The role of the Board of Directors is to approve and oversee the direction of the WCB. By statute, the Board of Directors consists of 10 members appointed by the Government of Manitoba from nominations submitted by labour, employers and the public. The Chief Executive Officer is a non-voting member of the Board of Directors.

The Executive Committee is responsible for providing leadership in the daily operations of the WCB.

Board of Directors


Michael Werier - ChairpersonMichael Werier

Michael Werier is a lawyer with extensive experience as an arbitrator/mediator and an expert in employment and labour law, health law and civil litigation.



Winston MaharajWinston Maharaj - President and CEO

Winston Maharaj joined the WCB as CEO in December 2011. Winston had held the position of CEO of the Healthcare Employees Benefit Plans Manitoba (HEB) since 2007 and has extensive experience in the public sector having held a number of positions with the Manitoba Government.




Worker Representatives

 Jean-Guy Bourgeois

Jean-Guy Bourgeois is the Director of Internal Operations at the Manitoba Government and General Employees' Union (MGEU).  He is also a member of the Executive Council of the Manitoba Federation of Labour and a member of the Board of Directors at the Union Centre. Jean-Guy was appointed to the WCB Board of Directors in 2016.



Sylvia FarleySylvia Farley

Sylvia Farley is the former Executive Director of the Manitoba Federation of Labour. Previously, Sylvia was the Labour Director of the United Way of Winnipeg. Sylvia was appointed to the WCB Board of Directors in 2016. 



Marc Lafond

Mark Lafond is Business Manager/Financial Secretary of the International Union of Operating Engineers of Manitoba (Local 987). He is also President of Manitoba Building and Construction Trades Council. He serves on various boards. He was appointed in 2018.



Employer Representatives

Michael Bereziak

Michael is the Director, Human Resources, Shared Health Manitoba with extensive human resources, labour relations and governance experience.  He was appointed in 2019.



Ron Koslowsky

Ron Koslowsky is the Vice President, Manitoba Division of the Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters with extensive experience in manufacturing, construction, insurance and business consulting.  Ron  was appointed  to the WCB Board of Directors in 2018. 



Yvette MilnerYvette Milner

Yvette Milner is the President of Merit Contractors Association of Manitoba and has extensive experience in many areas of disability management and workplace safety. Yvette was appointed to the WCB Board of Directors in 2016.


Public Interest Representatives

Peter DyckPeter Dyck

Peter Dyck is a Chartered Professional Accountant and Certified Corporate Director and President of Oakwood Strategy Group Inc. He has managed the finance division of a major property and casualty insurance corporation and currently manages his own advisory and consulting services business. Peter was appointed to the WCB Board of Directors in 2016.


Glenn Hildebrand

Glenn is a senior management consultant with over 30 years' experience in public relations and communication management fields. His practice also includes assisting organizations in improving and enhancing board governance structures and processes. He was appointed in 2019.



Elizabeth Roberts

Liz Roberts is President of Liz Roberts & Associates Ltd., a management consulting firm in Brandon.  She serves on various boards and is a UNESCO-recognized adult educator/facilitator. She was appointed in 2018




The Board of Directors is the centre of the WCB’s governance structure, oversees the management of the WCB and is committed to best practices in corporate governance.

Download the Board of Directors Governance Manual

Program Audit

In 2005, the Legislative Review Committee on the Workers Compensation Act recommended that the Government appoint an independent auditor every five years to conduct a value-for-money audit of a program of the WCB. This recommendation was subsequently incorporated into the amended legislation.


In 2010, the Board of Directors of the WCB recommended and the Government approved that an external cost, efficiency, and effectiveness audit be conducted of the Short Term Claims program. 

The audit concluded that the Short Term Claims program was well managed and controlled.  The audit report outlined sixteen recommendations to improve various aspects of the administration of the program. To view the audit report, click here.

In 2015, the Board of Directors recommended and the Government approved an external audit of the WCB's Review Office and File Access Unit.

The audit notes that the reconsideration process is operating with due regard for cost, efficiency and effectiveness. The audit report identified 24 opportunities for improvements and the WCB has accepted the recommendations and is working to make the suggested improvements. To view the audit report, click here.


Board Minutes

Executive Management Committee

Download Organizational Chart

Winston Maharaj
President and CEO
Dan Holland
Vice President, Compensation Services
Renzo Borgesa
Vice President, Assessments, Innovation & Technology
Andria McCaughan
Chief Financial Officer, Finance & Administrative Services
Shannon Earle
Vice President, Human Resources & Strategy Division
Jamie Hall
Chief Operating Officer, SAFE Work Manitoba
Cathy Skinner
General Counsel & Vice President, Compliance & Corporate Services



Content Type: