There are approximately 175 industry classifications in Manitoba. When you register with the WCB, your business is assigned to an industry classification based on the overall kind of work you do. It is not affected by the legal structure of your business or the various occupations within your operation.

An industry classification is made up of a group of employers who operate in a similar industry with a similar level of risk. Each industry classification is assigned a risk category that describes their cost of injuries compared to the system average.

Workers compensation insurance is a blend of collective and individual liability. This means your premium is based on a combination of the risk of potential injury costs at your workplace and the risk at workplaces with similar business activities.

Each industry is assigned a risk category. There are 18 risk categories and they describe the industry’s cost of injuries compared to the system average. An industry with a risk category above 100% has more injuries than the average. An industry with a risk category below 100% has fewer injuries than the average.

Classifications and their risk categories are based on years of information that tells us how likely groups of similar employers are – in comparison to the average of all employers – to have claims and claims-related costs. Risk categories are expressed as a percentage of that likelihood in relation to the overall average.

Your industry classification and its risk category are shown on the annual rate notification you receive each year from the WCB. You can also use the links below to view industry classifications and find your industry’s risk category.

Sector 1 – Agriculture and Forestry

Sector 2 – Mines, Quarries and Oil Wells

Sector 3 – Manufacturing

Sector 4 – Construction

Sector 5 – Transportation, Communications and Storage

Sector 6 – Trade

Sector 7 – Service

Sector 8 – Public Administration

Sector 9 - Optional Coverage

[accordion How Can I Get Involved in My Industry to Improve Performance?]

Your industry-based safety program (IBSP) can help you improve performance and reduce costs by investing in injury prevention and Return to Work. Industries that improve their performance as a whole can move to a lower risk category, which lowers rates for everyone in the industry classification.

Industry-Based Safety Programs

Industry-based safety programs​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​ (IBSPs) work closely with organizations to guide and support them in their safety and health efforts. If you are not sure about which IBSP your business is aligned with, your WCB annual rate notification will tell you. 

Current IBSPs include:




Sales and Service


SAFE Work Manitoba

SAFE Work Manitoba is a division of the WCB dedicated to preventing workplace injuries and illnesses. Working with industry partners, SAFE Work provides training, education, consultation and many other services to help prevent injuries in the workplace.

If your industry is not currently aligned with one of the above IBSPs, please contact SAFE Work Manitoba.


Within Winnipeg: 204-957-SAFE (7233)

Toll free: 1-855-957-SAFE (7233)


Visit the SAFE Work Manitoba website


Looking for More?

Resources for Small Businesses

Go back to Resources for Small Businesses